November 12, 2019, 02:22:12 AM

Author Topic: Calling  (Read 456 times)

Offline zclarkTOK

• View Profile
Calling
« on: September 02, 2019, 06:19:37 AM »
How early do you start calling before legal shooting time?

This will be my first year calling. My wife is about to kill me and Ive been walking around with a diaphragm in my mouth for the last two months but Ive got a decent enough cow call down to at least not scare anything away.

Im hunting on private land and usually starting in a blind over water and/or meadow to start the day before getting on my feet. Im usually in the blind about 1 hr before and am curious as to when I should put the feelers out to see if Im in the right spot.

Thanks for your help.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline WW

• Raghorn
    • View Profile
Re: Calling
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2019, 08:13:27 AM »
That's hard to say. You can call just about any time. But if you get a response before daylite, stop calling and wait until legal shooting hours before you call again. You sure don't want anything coming in while it is still dark.

Offline nclonghunter

• Big Bull
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2019, 02:34:40 PM »
Location bugles could be used at any time. If one is bugling or cow calling close by and it is dark I would wait for gray light to start any interaction.
If wisdom is the reward for aging, I will always be young

Offline ribo451

• Raghorn
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2019, 09:40:45 PM »
I listen in the dark but I don't call at all. I have had elk in my lap in a matter of minutes in a few places including some in the dark that winded me and ended that hunt before it even began.

Offline zclarkTOK

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2019, 08:30:53 AM »
Does any one call on scouting trips?

Offline cohunter14

• Global Moderator
  • Herd Bull
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2019, 10:07:50 AM »

Does any one call on scouting trips?